J. Edgar Iwanowski House
2525 Riverside Avenue
Jacksonville, Florida 32204-4710

James R. Walsh, 1921

Marine contractor J. Edgar Iwanowski was the original owner of this large house, which later served as headquarters for the local chapter of the American Red Cross. It is one of the few Prairie School houses built in Jacksonville in the 1920s (see 3305 Riverside Avenue). The most distinctive features of this residence are the cross-pattern decoration of the porch railing, which is repeated in the central windows of the second story and the dormer. Dramatic Prairie-style urns flank the main entrance. A massive, tiled porch roof is suported by tapered piers with simple geometric capitals, and the length of this roof is extended to include a porte-cochere. This house is one of two excellent Prairie School residences known to be designed by James R. Walsh (see 2982 St. Johns Avenue).

Listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1985 as part of the Riverside Historic District.

Photos by Wayne W. Wood.

• Broward, Robert C.: The Architecture of Henry John Klutho: The Prairie School in Jacksonville. Jacksonville, Florida: The Jacksonville Historical Society, 2003.
• Wood, Wayne W.: Jacksonville's Architectural Heritage: Landmarks for the Future. Gainesville, Florida: University Press of Florida, 1996.





MinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNew JerseyNew Mexico

NevadaNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOklahomaOhioOregon

PennsylvaniaSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexas



AustraliaCanadaDominican RepublicJapanNetherlandsPuerto Rico

   • • •

FAQContributorsRandom NotesRIPPrairie BookshelfThe Unknowns


The Web The Prairie School Traveler


All contents copyright 2005-2013 The Prairie School Traveler.